College Admissions

Strolling back down memory lane.

On my senior year in high school, I applied at four universities When applying for admission, an applicant is asked to choose 3-4 courses/ programs in the area he would want to take along with other requirements set by the school to complete the application. These courses are divided into two, the quota course and the non-quota course.

“The term quota course pertains to courses that are harder to get into and require a higher score in the admissions test than other degree programs.”1 In most cases, these comprise the popular courses that the school offers with a limited number of slots available. So even if you passed, your eligibility to get in will be based on your ranking with respect to the other passers who applied and passed as well. The higher the ranking, the highly likely to get in the course.

In this manner of speaking, the non-quota course comprise of the courses/programs offered by the school which are not as popular and have lower cut-off scores than others.

I didn’t know the rudiments when it comes to the courses options in the application form. Mostly, I opted for the quota courses. In one school, I opted for 3 quota courses (business and management). Someone offered and said to choose a non-quota course as the fourth. I did. I got in with the fourth choice. I did well with the subjects not related to my course. I had all the reasons to shift to a business course because my grades were well. I was on the brink, a few steps more… then I turned around. I scrapped the idea of shifting and stayed at my current course instead.

In case you get stuck in this situation, do what I did not. It will save you time and money.

 

source:  https://thelasallian.com/2012/12/22/quota-courses-the-wrong-perception/

Published by Wednesday Addams

I am my own computer junkie

Leave a comment